President’s Letter

ASLA Annual Meeting & Expo


I was recently speaking at an allied profession’s board meeting and was asked how landscape architects are responding to the issue of resilience.  I had to pause, because in many ways we’re not doing anything differently than what we’ve always done.

Resiliency is inherent to how landscape architects are wired.  It is who we are and what we do.  We work with the land and nature, not against it.  Our profession and the Society have shown resiliency through the past few difficult years.  Much like Colorado’s beloved Aspen groves, which are strengthened by devastating forest fires and survive avalanches, our professional roots are interconnected and we are emerging stronger than ever.

Denver is one of the few cities that was not built on a road, railroad, lake, navigable river or body of water when it was founded.  It just happened to be where the first few flakes of gold were found in 1858, but today it’s one of the greenest, healthiest, and, yes, most resilient, cities in the world.  From our central location downtown, we can immerse ourselves in its rich landscape architecture legacy, dating from the Olmsted Brothers to the many award-winning designers who are shaping the city today. On the following pages, you’ll see hundreds more reasons to attend.

Be resilient, show your strength, and join us in Denver!


Mark A. Focht, FASLA
ASLA President

ASLA Annual Meeting Education Advisory Commitee

Michael Albert, ASLA
Design Workshop, Inc.

James Burnett, FASLA
The Office of James Burnett

Warren Byrd, FASLA
Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects

Todd Hill, ASLA
DTJ Design

David Kamp, FASLA 
Dirtworks, PC

Mark Klopfer, ASLA
Klopfer Martin Design Group

Eric Kramer, ASLA 
Reed Hilderbrand

Shannon Nichol, ASLA
Gustafson Guthrie Nichol, LTD

James Richards, FASLA
Townscape, Inc.

Thomas Ryan, FASLA
Ryan Associates

Jim Schuessler Jr., FASLA

W. Gary Smith, FASLA 
W. Gary Smith Design

Daniel Tal, ASLA

Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA 
Ten Eyck Landscape Architects

Andrew Wilcox, ASLA
Cal Poly Pomona

Colorado Host Chapter Leaders 

Robert Berg, ASLA
Abraham Medina, ASLA

Host Chapter Co-Chairs

Angela D. Dye, FASLA
William E. Wenk, FASLA

Field Sessions Co-Chairs

Chris Perry, Affiliate ASLA
Jesse Young, ASLA

ASLA/ACE Mentor Program Legacy Project Co-Chairs

Susan Morris-McCabe, ASLA
Andrea Rutherford, Associate ASLA

Host Chapter Booth Co-Chairs


©2014 American Society of Landscape Architects.
All Rights Reserved/Terms of Use

in the U.S. and Canada
outside the U.S. and Canada